CASL

Connecticut Association of School Librarians

I just received this notice. It should be worth looking into with the ALA elections coming up.

Dear SIGMS Members:

Make plans to join your colleagues on Tuesday, March 16th at 8pm ET/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT for a very special event, “A Chat with Sara Kelly Johns”. Sara is a candidate in the election for ALA President and she will speak to librarians about her platform and her vision for ALA. Just as voting opens, this will be your opportunity to inform yourself and share your priorities. Join us at http://slurl.com/secondlife/ALA%20Island/127/104/29 or IM Elaine Tulip for a teleport. Please forward this message to other appropriate listservs.

If you are new to Second Life, set up an account to join us:
1. Go to the Second Life website at https://join.secondlife.com/?lang=en-US several days in advance to set up your free basic account.
2. Verify that your computer and connectivity meets the systems requirements at http://secondlife.com/support/sysreqs.php.
3. Click on the orange “Get Started!” button. Go through the subsequent screens to create your avatar account.
4. Download and install the Second Life viewer software at http://secondlife.com/support/downloads.php.
5. Open the software and log into Second Life using your avatar first name, last name, and password. Watch your avatar “be born”. Complete the orientation activities to learn about how to communicate, move, search, and edit your appearance.
6. When finished, search “Places” for locations such as ISTE or the American Library Association. Teleport to a favorite location, explore, and become acquainted with Second Life. (When searching, make sure the “search mature places” square is checked.)
7. Fifteen minutes prior to the scheduled meeting, log on and IM Elaine Tulip for a teleport to the meeting location or use provided SLURL.

Thanks,

Lisa Perez, Area Library Coordinator & Professional Librarian
Medill Professional Development & Training Ctr.
Department of Libraries & Information Services
1326 W. 14th Place, Rm 218
Chicago, Illinois 60608
773-553-6212
773-553-6211 fax
ISTE SIGMS Chair

Views: 7

Comment

You need to be a member of CASL to add comments!

Join CASL

Members

Birthdays

Birthdays Tomorrow

Latest Activity

Jenn Burt updated their profile
Dec 1, 2017
Janice Pellegrino left a comment for Jenn Burt
"Hello Jenn - Welcome to the CASL Ning.  Just an fyi that we will soon be moving this forum to our new website at http://ctcasl.org  ; Thank you!"
Dec 1, 2017
Jenn Burt is now a member of CASL
Dec 1, 2017
Janice Pellegrino left a comment for Matthew Puhlick, Ed.D.
"Hello Matthew - Welcome to the CASL Ning.  Just an fyi that we will soon be moving this forum to our new website at http://ctcasl.org  ; Thank you!"
Sep 28, 2017

© 2018   Created by Irene Kwidzinski.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service