Connecticut Association of School Librarians

Kudos to New Canaan ICT team, a 2010 AASL School Library Media Program of the Year Award Winner

Connecticut school librarians are so proud. New Canaan High School has won the 2010 AASL School Library Media Program of the Year Award along with a Perry Meridian Middle School in Indianapolis. What a wonderful role model for us all.

They join past CT SLMPY award winners: Simsbury HS (2008); Timothy Dwight Elem., Fairfield (1998); Beecher Road School, Woodbridge (1992); and Greenwich (1979). They also join our New England, Region I, program award winners: Boston Arts Academy/Fenway High School (2005) and Londonderry School District, NH (2001).

I had the privilege of observing a student teacher at the NCHS LMC and could see the program in action under the direction of Michelle Luhtala and Christina Russo, supported by a knowledgeable and hard-working staff. They must be on cloud 9 or higher. They also won the 2010 CASL Bernice "Bunny" Yesner School Library Media Program of the Year as well as honorable mention for the ISTE award.

NCHS Information and Communication Technology team: Left to right: Chris Russo, Taffy Rodell, Michelle Luhtala, Tony Psenicnik, Mariana Psenicnik, Marilyn Block, Scott Koehler, Paul Cunha, Sue Jacobsen, Tomo Honohan, Cathy Swan

When you visit the NCHS Library Media Center's web page or read the write up, "NCHS library program receives top national award" in the local New Canaan Advertiser describing the eight years of planning and hard work that went into making "the library program an integral part of New Canaan High School," you will be impressed with what they are doing and want to follow in their footsteps.

Want to strive for excellence? Use the award application as your rubric and guide. The 2011 award application will be posted mid-year.

Views: 645


You need to be a member of CASL to add comments!


© 2021   Created by CASL Treasurer.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service